Scoil Mhuire is a Catholic school under the Patronage of the Catholic Bishop of Ferns. Scoil Mhuire is situated in the townsland of Ballinamona, Campile, Co. Wexford, on the New Ross – Campile road. It is a central school for the Parish of Sutton’s, which is divided into Horeswood  and Ballykelly Curacies.

In 1979 four schools in the parish amalgamated into Scoil Mhuire. These four schools were Aclare NS, Ballykelly NS, Horeswood NS, and Killesk NS.

Scoil Mhuire has 11 mainstream teachers and four special education teachers. There are five SNA’s in the school. We have a cleaner, caretaker and secretary.

Scoil Mhuire Horeswood National School

Scoil Mhuire Horeswood National School


School Calendar 2017/18

The school will be closed on the following days:

Month Closures
September 17 None 
October 17  Mid-term   commences 30th
November 17  Mid-term 1st -3rd 
December 17  22nd    -31st    Christmas holidays. School closes for Christmas holidays at 12.30 on Friday 22nd     Dec.
January 2018  1st – 5th    Christmas   holidays.School reopens on Monday 8th  
February 2018 15th -16th   Mid-term break 
March 2018 19th Public   holiday. Easter holidays 26th -31st. School closes Friday 23rd for Easter holidays 
April 2018  Easter holidays 1st -6th. School re-opens Monday 9th
May 2018 7th- 11th May
June 2018  4th  Public   Holiday .School closes Thursday June 28th   for summer holidays 


The above calendar is based on completion of 182 school days (teacher inservice day reduces it from 183). Circular 34/2011 makes provision for contingency arrangements in the event of unforeseen school closures in the coming year. These will apply to “extensive or prolonged unforeseen closures” and will be made up by one or both of the following:

  • The February mid-term break may be reduced by up to 3 days subject to the requirement that all schools must be closed on the Thursday and Friday of the week in which this break falls
  • The Easter break may be reduced by up to 3 days by the school remaining open to and including Wednesday immediately preceding the Easter weekend. All schools must be closed on the Thursday and Friday immediately preceding the Easter weekend and remain closed for the remainder of the Easter break.

Other useful dates:

Beginning of school year Mass: Sunday October 1st 2017  10.30am in St. James Church, Horeswood.

Christmas Carol Service: Wednesday, December 20th 2017, 6.30pm,  St James Church, Horeswood



Our Staff Members

Principal: Brian Flood

Junior Infants: Anna O’Hanlon                                                       Third Class: Evelyn O’ Connor

Senior Infants: Geraldine Radford                                                  Fourth Class: Sean Crowley

Senior Infants and First Class: Kathryn O’ Hanlon                 Fourth and Fifth Class: Caitriona Brady

First Class: Lenora Warner                                                                 Fifth Class: Patricia Barnwell

Second Class: Jane Grennan                                                               Sixth Class: Louise Cosgrove

Second and Third Class: Melissa Walsh

SEN Teachers: Brid O’ Brien, Emma Hennessy, Juliet Rogers, Louise Collins

SNA’s: Kathleen Larkin, Marie Hart, Joan Knight, Aine O’Brien, Grace Phelan

Secretary: Elaine Keating

Caretaker: Michael Halligan

Cleaner: Gillian Murphy


Our Location